PDA

View Full Version : pennzoil oil and filters, any good?

Tim Tomson
02-05-2006, 11:43 AM
Hello I am a new member. I have always used pennzoil products in all my gas stuff, but i am new to diesels. I have 2500 miles on my truck and wanted to get the break in oil out. Can I run pennzoil or should I go with something else. The truck is awesome.

Ram610
02-05-2006, 12:14 PM
Are you out there HERB? You'll here alot of differing ideas on this issue for this site. Some oils will smell like hell (rotilla) some oils cost a small fortune. I personally run Amsoil in my ride but before I switched I just ran Valvoline extreme blue, it’s recommended by Cummins. I think I changed over to Amsoil at 15000 miles. It's really up to you, I haven't heard to much about Pennzoil here on the site. Welcome to the forum, where about in PA do you live? Hope this helps.ROB

Ram610
02-05-2006, 12:17 PM
OH, one more thing about filters, again it's up to you put I think most of us are running the Fleet Guard filters. You can pick these up from Geno Garage in a nice set along with fuel filters.www.genosgarage.com. You'll find these filters on most Cummins motors in the field..ROB

Tim Tomson
02-05-2006, 12:40 PM
Thanks for info. Kutztown PA.

02-05-2006, 01:21 PM
WELCOME HighSide, Kutztown, up the road from me. I would go ahead and change the break in oil. I would run conventional another 3,000 miles or so. Then decide if you want to switch to synthetic. We recommend anytime after 6,000 miles. Yes I run AMSOIL, Front to Back. To date my 2002 CTD oil is approaching close to 50,000 miles with only changing oil filters on the BMK-15 dual remote filtration system. Oil analysis results still in excellent condition. /forum/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/smile.gif Any question feel free to contact me.

Tim Tomson
02-05-2006, 02:01 PM
Thanks Herb thats what I will do. I checked your website out very informative.

avgjoe
02-05-2006, 04:11 PM